The Blanket Scarf

IMG_2934
Casually stopping by to say hello to Sir Paul McCartney

This past semester, from the end of January to the middle of May, I studied abroad in London.  As you can imagine, packing three and a half months worth of clothes into one 50 pound suitcase, is no easy task.  Especially if you’re an over packer, like I am.  I packed a lot of staple pieces, layering pieces and versatile pieces.  One item I always found myself wearing was this blanket scarf from Zara.

Phone Booth
Photo by Bailey Fuqua

It was wonderful!  It paired well with so many of my outfits, it kept me warm in chilly London and it was massive.  When I call it a blanket scarf, I mean it.  The picture above only shows about half of the scarf.  (Hey, doesn’t it look great against that red telephone booth?)

IMG_2500
Look guys, I found Nessie!

I took this scarf on so many of our weekend trips (like this one to Loch Ness in Scotland), because it was so lightweight and easy to pair with so many different pieces.  I kept the majority of my outfits neutral and let the scarf be the focal point.  Packing tip: Choose one item, like my scarf, to be your main piece.  Pair items that are neutral or in the same color family as that piece and just like that you’ve easily got several outfits for a fashionable weekend getaway!

The wonderful photographer for most of these shots and my lovely world traveling friend, Bailey and I at the University of Cambridge

Fun Fact: This scarf was so popular in London, it seemed like everyone had it. Some of my friends started a game to see who could spot “Taylor’s Scarf” throughout London.  Hey, those Londoners know a great blanket scarf when they see one!

What are some of your packing tips when planning a weekend getaway?

Scarf: Zara {old}, this season’s replacement here.  I’ve also seen my scarf and several that are almost identical listed on eBay!

3 thoughts on “The Blanket Scarf

Leave a comment